Old Town Hall
History of the Old Town Hall
Built in 1904 for $5,000, the Old Town Hall (Winchester Cultural Centre) located at 478 Main Street East in Winchester has gone through many changes. From 1906 to 1961, it was the village library. During the 1920’s, it showcased movies, plays, and concerts with local dances held upstairs. For 65 years, the Old Town Hall acted as Winchester’s local jail, and visitors can still see evidence of jail cells in the form of bars on windows and original cell doors. From 1970 to 1980, the Ontario Provincial Police made their headquarters there.
Now, the Old Town Hall is home to the Dundas County Players theatre group, who have been entertaining the community with plays, cabarets, and dinner theatre since 1996. True to its history of versatility. The Old Town Hall doesn’t just serve this one purpose. It also hosts “A Night at the Moovies”, as well as Open Mic Night on a regular basis. The Old Town Hall has been host to many other community events like concerts (including the Festival of Small Halls, as well as artists Dan Hill and Sean McCann), live entertainment, book and CD release parties, and weddings.
With seating for 97 guests in the theatre, this facility is also great for meetings and presentations. The lobby space is excellent for heritage displays, art shows and special events. The Old Town Hall is fully air-conditioned, licensed, and accessible.
Visit the Township’s Calendar of Events for more details on activities taking place in the Old Town Hall.
Brandon Cousineau, Recreation Coordinator, 613-774-2105.